pic-for-imagery-pieceThe setting sun creates a kaleidoscope of colors reflecting off the wet pavement. Purples. Reds. Yellows. Greens. Oranges. Blues. I smell the fall leaves and the aftermath of a musty rain. I turn a corner and begin walking down a narrow, slippery road. The young couple walks up ahead of me and I can faintly hear their muffled voices. I try to make out exactly what they are saying, but I’m not close enough. I remain roughly fifteen yards back so as not to cause suspicion, but I know as soon as they notice me I’m done for. I avoid the puddles as much as possible but once and a while I misstep and splash into the pool of water. The rainwater soaks through my boots into my socks causing me to shiver. I sit down on a nearby bench and pull off my shoes. My head is bent down as I finish the double-knot on my shoelaces when I hear, “What do you think you’re doing here?”

